Members & Media

Members & Media


SSDTA Membership Information

Get To Know Us

Incorporated on January 22, 1987, the Southeast South Dakota Tourism Association is a non-profit organization dedicated toward increasing the economic impact of the visitor industry on Southeastern South Dakota. The Southeast South Dakota region, consisting of 14 counties, is divided into five districts. The Association's 15-member Board of Directors is divided into groups of three-members representing each district. Funding is provided through memberships, South Dakota Vacation Guide and Southeast South Dakota Travel Guide ad sales and a contract with the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The fiscal year begins July 1st and ends June 30th. Our purpose is to promote tourism in Southeast South Dakota by working together with the South Dakota Dept. of Tourism and other regional tourism associations.

SSDTA 2017-2018 Marketing Grant

The purpose of this grant is to expand SSDTA members marketing reach and to increase visitation and visitor spending in Southeast South Dakota. Only SSDTA members may apply for this grant. Grant will be awarded from $250 to $5,000 with a 50% cash match required.
Submission deadline is September 1, 2017.
Applications must be submitted by email only to
Grant recipients will be notified in writing by September 15, 2017.

Guidelines and 2017-2018 Grant Application Form:


Document must be downloaded to print it.
To download after opening, click arrow in upper left corner.

Opportunities with the South Dakota Dept. of Tourism

SSDTA Annual Meeting - Free

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

at Good Earth State Park near Sioux Falls
10 am through Lunch
Lunch - Rowdy Hog BBQ and Stensland Family Farms Ice Cream!

Jim Hagen, Secretary of Tourism
Kirk Hulstein, Statistics

FREE to SSDTA Members, Future Members and Friends


East River Literature Swap is held in May

This annual event allows you to deliver an initial supply of your brochures to all of the South Dakota Interstate Information Centers as well as swap them with other tourism businesses around the region.

SSDTA Visitor Newsletters

January 2017
February 2017 
March 2017
April 2017
May #1 2017
May #2 2017
June #1 2017
June #2 2017
uly 2017 
August 2017

SSDTA "Southeast Compass" Members Newsletters

January 2017
February 2017 
March 2017
April 2017
May 2017
June 2017
July 2017 
August 2017

Board Meetings

  • September 20 - 10am, Prehistoric Indian Village, Mitchell

SSDTA Members are welcome and encouraged to attend regular board meetings. Meetings are held every other month in various locations around the region.

Committee membership opportunities include:

  • Marketing
  • Membership
  • Public Relations
  • Executive Committee

If your member business is interested in hosting a board meeting, please contact the office (605-665-2435).

SSDTA Board of Directors

District I - City of Sioux Falls
Adam Nelson, Siouxland Heritage Museums, Sioux Falls -
Ryan Friez, Thunder Road, Sioux Falls - (Vice President)
Kylee Breems, Great Plains Zoo, Sioux Falls - 
District II - Minnehaha County, Moody County, Lake County
Dave Greenlee, Tucker's Walk Vineyard -
Kris Frerk, Garretson Commercial Club - (Membership Chairman)
District III - Miner County, Davison County, Hanson County, McCook County
Katie Knutson, Mitchell CVB - (Secretary-Treasurer)
Kim Burg, James Valley Community Center, Mitchell -
Cindy Gregg, Prehistoric Indian Village - (at Large)
District IV - Douglas County, Hutchinson County, Turner County, Bon Homme County, Yankton County
Dugan Smith, National Park Service - MNRR,
Holly McCann, Cogan House B & B -
Tim Peterson, Broken Willow Lodge (at Large)
District V - Clay County, Lincoln County, Union County
Dennis Nelsen, City of Elk Point- (President)
Patricia Bornhofen, National Music Museum -

SSDTA Contact Information
Southeast South Dakota Tourism Association
1101 Broadway, Suite 113
Yankton, SD 57078

Southeast South Dakota Tourism exists to increase the economic impact of the visitor industry on Southeastern South Dakota. We are proudly celebraing over 25 years of promoting tourism in Southeast South Dakota!